Perch Blog http://grabaperch.com Blog posts Wed, 15 Apr 2015 15:16:00 +0000 http://edgeofmyseat.com/services/content-management-systems en Perch Community Chat http://www.grabaperch.com/blog/archive/perch-community-chat http://www.grabaperch.com/blog/archive/perch-community-chat We love to use Slack here at Perch HQ, so we’ve set up a Slack Team for Perchers to chat to us and each other.

]]>
Wed, 15 Apr 2015 15:16:00 +0000
Should I use Collections or an app? http://www.grabaperch.com/blog/archive/should-i-use-collections-or-an-app http://www.grabaperch.com/blog/archive/should-i-use-collections-or-an-app With more Perchers choosing to build sites on Perch Runway and trying out Runway with a Developer license on their personal sites, we thought it would be worth discussing more of the features and capabilities.

]]>
Wed, 15 Apr 2015 09:12:00 +0000
Looping Data in Perch http://www.grabaperch.com/blog/archive/looping-data-in-perch http://www.grabaperch.com/blog/archive/looping-data-in-perch In Perch there are various ways of creating repeating content, most of which happen via your templates rather than by messing around inside a PHP loop on the page! In this post I’ll introduce them and suggest when you might use each one.

]]>
Wed, 08 Apr 2015 14:11:00 +0000
Perch and Perch Runway 2.8 http://www.grabaperch.com/blog/archive/perch-and-perch-runway-28 http://www.grabaperch.com/blog/archive/perch-and-perch-runway-28 Perch and Perch Runway 2.8 is now here. If you have a Perch 2 or Perch Runway license this is a free update and can be downloaded from your account. This post introduces some of the headline features.

]]>
Mon, 02 Mar 2015 08:20:00 +0000
Introducing Blocks http://www.grabaperch.com/blog/archive/introducing-blocks http://www.grabaperch.com/blog/archive/introducing-blocks Perch and Perch Runway 2.8 will include a new feature called Blocks. Blocks attempts to balance the control of structured content and the flexibility of WYSIWYG.

]]>
Tue, 10 Feb 2015 16:57:00 +0000
Fun stats from Perch Support and how to get help fast http://www.grabaperch.com/blog/archive/fun-stats-from-perch-support-and-how-to-get-help-fast http://www.grabaperch.com/blog/archive/fun-stats-from-perch-support-and-how-to-get-help-fast We’ve been running some reports on our official support forum and we thought we’d share our findings along with some suggestions on how to make best use of support.

]]>
Mon, 02 Feb 2015 15:38:00 +0000
Progressive Output Flushing http://www.grabaperch.com/blog/archive/progressive-output-flushing http://www.grabaperch.com/blog/archive/progressive-output-flushing The update notes for Perch 2.7.10 included a mysterious entry about progressive output flushing and improved performance. Page load speed is something we care a lot about, and this is another way Perch helps to keep your sites feeling fast. So what is it?

]]>
Thu, 29 Jan 2015 17:33:00 +0000
Perch Runway Developer License http://www.grabaperch.com/blog/archive/perch-runway-developer-license http://www.grabaperch.com/blog/archive/perch-runway-developer-license Announcing our Perch Runway Developer License. Get a Perch Runway license for the price of a Standard Perch 2 license for development and learning purposes or for a personal site.

]]>
Fri, 16 Jan 2015 15:15:00 +0000
Adding markup to some items in a Multiple Item Region http://www.grabaperch.com/blog/archive/adding-markup-to-some-items-in-a-multiple-item-region http://www.grabaperch.com/blog/archive/adding-markup-to-some-items-in-a-multiple-item-region Sometimes when you are repeating items in a multiple item region you need to insert some markup between every so many items. This pattern happens a lot in the Bootstrap framework, where you need to add row divs around rows of items.

Perch makes this easy to do with perch:before and perch:after with the perch:every tag.

]]>
Fri, 16 Jan 2015 10:55:00 +0000
Perch 2.7.7 Assets Panel Enhancements http://www.grabaperch.com/blog/archive/perch-277-assets-panel-enhancements http://www.grabaperch.com/blog/archive/perch-277-assets-panel-enhancements The Perch 2.7.7 release has added some nice features to the Assets Panel for Perch and Perch Runway. I show you around in this video.

]]>
Tue, 13 Jan 2015 14:44:00 +0000